The keep her sister safe. The fourth stage

The first stage of the hero’s journey is the Ordinary World. The Ordinary World in the Hunger Games is set in district 12, which is where Katniss lives. District 12 is the poorest of all twelve districts, with electric fences surrounding the woods that civilians are not allowed to go. However, Katniss regularly sneaks out to go hunting in the woods. The second stage of the hero’s journey is the Call to Adventure.

The day has come where Effie Trinket comes and carries out the selection ceremony, which chooses a male and female tribute from each district to compete in the Hunger Games. Unfortunately, Katniss’s little sister, Prim, is called as the female tribute, but Katniss volunteers to be a tribute in her sister’s place so that Prim can stay safe. The third stage of the hero’s journey is the Refusal of the Call. In the Hunger Games, this stage is not included because Katniss willingly volunteers to take part in the Hunger Games and all the dangers she will embark on in the future.

Don't use plagiarized sources.
Get Your Custom Essay on "The keep her sister safe. The fourth stage..."
For You For Only $13.90/page!

Get custom paper

She is willing to fight against anyone to keep her sister safe. The fourth stage of the hero’s journey is Meeting with the Mentor. The mentor in the Hunger Games is Haymitch, who was a victor from a previous year, and he is assigned to give advice and suggestions to Katniss and Peeta before they enter the arena. The fifth stage of the hero’s journey is Crossing the Threshold. Katniss and Peeta get on a train to travel to the Capitol from District 12. The civilians and the overall environment of the Capitol is drastically different from what Katniss is used to in District 12. The sixth stage of the hero’s journey is Tests, Allies, and Enemies.

Katniss’s allies are Peeta, the male tribute of District 12, Haymitch, her mentor, and Rue, a little girl from District 8 who is also competing in the Hunger Games. The Gamekeepers are constantly placing obstacles for the competitors in the arena, and these are the tests that Katniss has to face. The seventh stage of the hero’s journey is Approach to the Inmost Cave.

In the arena, Katniss gets badly burned from a fire, and loses her ally, Rue. Peeta is also struggling with an injury, and this makes Katniss and Peeta realize that they have to stick together in order to win the games. The eighth stage of the hero’s journey is the Ordeal. The Gamekeepers place a final obstacle, a pack of wolves, for Katniss and Peeta, but Katniss and Peeta fight off the ferocious wolves. They realize that they don’t want to lose each other, so they devise a plan to eat poison berries together so that they can show the Capitol that they aren’t part of their “game” anymore. The Capitol realizes their plan, and for the first time, crowns two victors of the Hunger Games.

The ninth stage of the hero’s journey is the Reward. Katniss and Peeta are both the victors of the 74th annual Hunger Games, and they receive money, but also the comfort that they are going back to their families safely. The tenth stage of the hero’s journey is The Road Back. The Capitol is angry that Katniss was able to break the rules during the Hunger Games, but Katniss convinces the Capitol that it was absolutely necessary for her to do that because she and Peeta are truly in love. The eleventh stage of the hero’s journey is the Resurrection.

Katniss finds out the Capitol is still out to get her, so she bands together with Peeta and gets ready to face the Capitol. The twelfth, and last stage of the hero’s journey is Return with the Elixir. Katniss and Peeta return with the realization that they started a large rebellion with small rebellious act they did during the Hunger Games.

Choose your subject


I'm Jessica!

Don't know how to start your paper? Worry no more! Get professional writing assistance from me.

Click here